School Calendar

Here is a list of important Autumn Term 2016 dates for your diary. We will endeavor to keep this list as up-to-date as possible, adding new events as they occur during the term. In the event of a change, e.g. cancellation of sports events due to inclement weather, parents will be informed via Parentmail and the school website.

 

Summer term 2017 dates for your diary:

Wednesday 26th April                   Y6, Class 2 Eco Day at Nissan

Thursday 27th April                       Y6 Class 1 Eco Day at Nissan

Tuesday 2nd May                          Photographer in School

Tuesday  9th May                          Y4 Rugby at Boldon School

Mon 8th May – Thur 11th May        SATs Week.

Wednesday 17th May                    PTA Meeting

Tuesday 6th June                          Y3 Rugby at Boldon School

Mon 12th – Fri 16th June                Y6 Residential to Dukeshouse Wood

Tuesday 13th June                        Y5 Football at Boldon School

Wednesday 28th June                  Sports Day 1pm. All Welcome

Tuesday 4th July                            Y6 Swimming Gala at Boldon School

Thursday 6th July                           Y6 Brass and Samba Performance. Y6 parents welcome.

Mon 10th – fri 14th July                  Y5 Residential to Gibside Stables

Thur 13th and Fri 14th July            Y6 Transition days

Friday 21st July                              Break up for summer holidays

 

 

 

Events coming up in the Spring Term 2017:

Class Assemblies

Adults only please.

Thursday 26th January                   Class 6 assembly (Year 4 Miss Murton)  –  10.15-10.30am

Thursday 2nd February                   Class 7 assembly (Year 4 Miss Griffiths)  – 10.15-10.30am

Thursday 16th March                      Class 9 assembly (Year 3 Miss Robson)  – 10.15-10.30am

Thursday 30th March                      Class 8 assembly (Year 3 Mrs McCann) –   10.15-10.30am

 

Diary

Tuesday 17th January                     Y5 Residential – Initial interest meeting.  3.00pm

Tuesday 24th January                     Chinese New Year lunch

25th January    (morning)                 Y4 Multiskills Festival.  Boldon School

25th January     (afternoon)             Benchball Festival, Boldon School

Wedneday 25th January                 Year 5 ICT day (in school with Openzone Teachers)

1st February       (morning)               Y5 Multiskills Festival.  Boldon School

Monday 6th and Monday 13th February – Parent meetings 2:30pm – 6:30pm.    

Appointment details to follow. 

7th February      (morning)               Football Tournament at Mortimer School. Football team.

Tuesday 7th February                     Safer Internet Day

8th February      (morning)               Y3 Multiskills. Boldon School

 

Monday 20th – Friday 24th February – Half term holiday

 

In-Service day                                Monday 27th February 2017.  School closed to pupils.

Wednesday 1st March                    Y4 French Day at The Word

Thursday 2nd March                      PTA Disco    5pm – 6:30pm

2nd March       (afternoon)             Girls Football Team match at Mortimer School

Friday 3rd March                            World Book Day. Children are invited to dress up as their favourite book character and will enjoy a performance of The Jungle Book by Image Theatre Company. Details to follow.

6th – 10th March                               Curriculum Week. Parents will be invited in to see the children at work on Thursday afternoon.

Monday 6th March                           Science Club starts

13th – 16th March                              Book Fair

15th and 16th March                       Bikeability, year 4

15th March                                      Video Conference with a school in France, Class 5

16th March          (afternoon)            Y4 Quicksticks Hockey Tournament at Boldon School

16th March                                      Y5 Fire safety workshop.

20th March          (afternoon)            Y5/6 Hockey tournament at Boldon School

23rd March                                      Class 1 visit to Nissan

29th March          (10am–2pm)         Y5 Rugby tournament at Temple Park Centre

30th March                                      Y5 visit to Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

31st March                                      Class 2 visit to Nissan

Tuesday 4th April                              Easter Egg display in the school hall 3:30 – 4:00pm

Wednesday 5th April                         Easter Egg display in the school hall 8:30 – 9:00am

Thursday 6th April                            Easter Service led by Y5 pupils. 2.00pm in St George’s Church

 

 

PTA events

Wednesday 15th February          PTA meeting in the Grey Horse, 6pm. All welcome

Thursday 2nd March                   PTA Junior Disco

Friday 10th March                       Non-uniform day to provide gift and tombola donations for the Mother’s Day Coffee morning.

Saturday 25th March                   PTA Mother’s Day Coffee Morning 10.00am -12noon

 

Holidays

Half-term                                  20th Feb – 24th Feb 2017 inc.

Easter break                            Monday 10th April – Friday 21st April 2017

May Bank holiday                    Monday 1st May 2017

Half-term                                 29th May – 2nd June 2017 inc.

Summer holiday                      Break up Friday 21st July 2017

 

School re-opens Tuesday 5th September 2017

 

Autumn Term 2016

Monday 5th September – In service day. School closed to pupils.

Tuesday 6th September – School opens to pupils.

Tuesday 13th September – School Council visit to Jarrow Town Hall

Thursday 15th September – Y6 visit to Eden Camp

Saturday 17th September – Friends of EB Parks Funday.

Thursday 6th October, Class 1 assembly, 10:15 – 10:30am. Parents welcome.

Tuesday 11th October – Hoops for Health roadshow, Newcastle Eagles

Tuesday 11th October and Wednesday 12th October, Parent meetings. Details to be sent to parents later in the term.

Friday 14th October, ICT day, Y6, Maths in Motion

Wednesday 19th October, M and M Theatrical Productions present The Wizard of Oz. Whole School.

Thursday 20th October, Class 2 assembly, 10:15 – 10:30am. Parents welcome.

Thursday 20th October, 5pm – 6:30pm   PTA Disco.

Monday 24th to Friday 28th October 2016 – Half term holiday

Thursday 10th November, Class 4 assembly, 10:15 – 10:30am. Parents welcome.

Thursday 17th November, Flu vaccinations

Thursday 24th November, Class 5 assembly, 10:15 – 10:30am. Parents welcome.

Friday 25th November – Onesie day for PTA tombola.

Friday 25th November, Save the Children Toy Fair, 3:30pm – 5pm

Monday 28th November Y5 visit to the Magistrates Court – first class

Tuesday 29th November, ICT day, Y4 in school with staff from The Word.

Tuesday 6th December – Y3 present ‘The Day Baby Jesus Came to Town.’  2pm

Wednesday 7th December – Y3 present ‘The Day Baby Jesus Came to Town.’  6pm

Thursday 8th December -Year 6 Enterprise Day. Market Place, South Shields

Thursday 8th December – PTA Christmas Fair, Infant School, 3:30pm

Friday 9th December – Singing Club Concert, 1:30pm

Monday 12th December Y5 visit to the Magistrates Court – second class

Wednesday 14th December, Y3/4 Christmas Party, 1 – 3:30pm

Wednesday 14th December, Y5/6 Christmas Party, 4:30 – 6:30pm

Thursday 15th December – Christmas Lunch

Friday 16th December 2016. Carol service in St George’s Church, 1:30pm.  Parents welcome.

Break up for Christmas holidays. Children will be escorted back to school after the church service. Parents are requested to collect children from their classrooms at 2:30pm.

Monday 19th December 2016 to Friday 30th December 2016 – Christmas holidays.

Monday 2nd January 2017 – Bank holiday

Tuesday 3rd January 2017 – In-service Day. School closed to pupils.

 

Further dates will be added and information sent to parents during the term.